The grande communication app WhatsApp has launched a feature that will allow users to keep an eye on who is messaging them, even if the app itself is offline.
In a blog post on Wednesday, the app announced that its “social” feature, which allows users to “communicate with each other in a safe environment,” would now be available to everyone, even when the app is offline or in the middle of a major event.
The feature is designed to be used by people who are at their most socially disconnected.
“If you have a long distance relationship or someone who is really distant, or have a big house or a lot of other people that you don’t see often, this is a great way to stay connected to family and friends while you’re away,” said the company in a blogpost.
“We’re really excited to bring this feature to our community, and we hope that it will bring many more people into this new social experience.”
WhatsApp has also launched a new feature that allows users in “virtual communities” to keep a “history of the last messages they have exchanged” in a virtual chat room.
Users can now access this feature through the new “social media” section of their app, and will see a small, white, circle on the bottom of the screen with the name of their social media account.
The next time a user sends a message to someone who they haven’t seen in months, they will see that it was a message from someone they know, who they have interacted with previously, and who has since stopped communicating with them.
This new feature has been rolled out across all of WhatsApp’s apps, which have previously featured a similar feature.